‘It cannot be!’ Chief thought to himself.
‘After all these years? How did he find me?
Impossible!’

**********

Mrs Badejo could not believe her ears!
‘Did he just call Dayo his father?
That means…this means…I’m his step mother?
My boyfriend is my step-son?
And he knew all these while??’

If her heart weren’t so strong, she would have died of embarrassment.
She could see the headlines on the tabloids:
‘Woman of God in illicit affair with step-son’
She looked at her husband.
“Dayo why aren’t you denying this allegation!”
“Shut up woman” Mark said with so much menace, she fell silent at once.

**********

Vivian was appalled and disgusted.
She could feel the pent up hate flowing out of every pore of his body.
Where did this leave her?

**********

Mark looked that them and chuckled.
“You are surprised?”
Tears of mirth rolled down his face.
“For the benefit of your wife and daughter, I’d start this tale from the beginning.
A strapping young man from a rich family. An innocent woman working as a help.
Ofcourse you couldn’t resist a woman who wanted nothing of you. The chase! The denial from her. It drove you mad with longing.
You got her trapped and had your way with her. Then discarded her. She became pregnant and she got sent back to her impoverished aunt’s house.
You went on to take over and expand your father’s modest business.
She fended for herself, by herself. With a kid she couldn’t take care of.
But she managed. Strong woman she was!
Its been 30 years hasn’t it?
My mother told me before she passed away that seeking revenge would take me nowhere; like chasing pavements: a futile attempt.
She was WRONG!”

************

“Ok what do you want now? A settlement? A part of my business? An apology? What!” Chief asked, his anger barely held in check.
‘So he made a mistake when he was 20. Didn’t everybody make them???’

************

Mark smiled smugly.
“Actually, I want nothing from you. The delight I got from ruining your family is enough!”
He swung his gaze at Mrs Badejo
“Pastor Stella. Seducing you was so easy! You should reconsider your calling. A REAL woman of God wouldn’t have yielded that fast. Oh the way you couldn’t get enough of me! Wanton cougar”
He bellowed in laughter.

***********

Stella felt tears coming fast. She did nothing to hide it;letting it flow down her face.

**********

He grinned as he turned to Vivian
“Sweet succulent Vivian. So eager to please. Little girls shouldn’t have sex with older men without protection you know. You just might get pregnant. But I bet you enjoyed it. If your mother hadn’t come in that day I bet we’d have gone for 5 rounds eh?”

***********

Every word felt like a slap to her face. She heard her mother gasp and moan in horror. She could feel her dad’s stare of disappointment on her. She couldn’t look at them. Head bowed in shame; She couldn’t face them.

***********

He laughed, walked to her and raising her bowed head.
He felt her body trembling.
“Sweet Vivian. Ever so trusting. Ever so eager. Stealing from your dad just because I said you should.”
He planted a kiss on her forehead.
“Thanks to you, your father’s business would be in shambles! That file was a big bucks contract. Unfortunately, I’ve given it to his business rival.
Thanks to you, your father is finished!”

**********

“Vi..vivian….you…”
Chief went numb.
He felt a tight contraption around his heart, squeezing.
He began gasping for air.

**********

Mark watched his father dispassionately as he slumped.
He watched his step mother run to her husband.
He watched his step sister stare in shock.
He wondered where Joe was; he was too young so he didn’t involve him in the madness.
“Well it seems my work here is done. I shall take my leave now. And don’t hold your breath about seeing me again.
So long!”

He left.

*************

The rest of the story is a blur.
Did Chief survive?
Did he forgive his wife?
What about Stella’s church?
Did it stand?
What about Vivian?
How about Joe?

Even I, the narrator cannot tell.
One thing I can say for certain is that Mark was involved in a fatal car accident minutes after leaving the house
He did not survive.
Makes you wonder if his mother was right after all.
It makes me wonder too!

THE END

